22

When she was 22 the future looked bright but she’s nearly 30 now and she’s out every night. I see that look in her face, she’s got that look in her eye. She’s thinking, ” how did I get here? ” and wondering why.

It’s sad but it’s true how society says her life is already over. There’s nothing to do and there’s nothing to say until the man of her dreams comes along, picks her up and puts her over his shoulder. It seems so unlikely in this day and age.

She’s got an alright job but it’s not a career. Whenever she thinks about it, it brings her to tears, ’cause all she wants is a boyfriend, she gets one night stands.

She’s thinking, ” how did I get here, I’m doing all that I can “.

Lily Allen, 22

4 thoughts on “22

  1. Not really a great fan of Llly, she seems so very bitter and angry about men. However, I do love these lyrics.
    She has managed to encapsulate what so many people go through so perfectly, that you have to ask yourself how can anyone be able to have observed this at the tender age of 22? When I was 22, my idea of social injustice was having to get the round in twice; mind you, not everyone is as shallow as I am, lol.

  2. To be completely honest I don’t know Lily Allen that well… I didn’t know she wrote this herself or that she was 22 when she did. I have only one of her records and usually just listen to it when I’m, on a break, busily and nosily cleaning the house. And even so, I rarely listen to her.

    But one thing I really enjoy is a lyric that means something, and this one seems so utterly similar to so many women I know or knew, that I felt the need to write it down on my blog.

    22… let me think… When I was 22 I was in University and working part-time at the same time, on meaningless jobs. My idea of social injustice was directed at University Teachers that have the means to destroy our confidence and we cannot do anything about it, no matter how hard we try. They do it just because they are miserable in their personal lives or careers. I had a teacher once that had an emotional breakdown for years and when she came back as a University Teacher she was obviously still very mental, she treated the majority of us, students, very poorly. Several of us complained for years to the board, but nothing was ever done.

    She’s still teaching.

  3. We’re going through something like that with our daughter’s ballet teacher at the moment. She’s so bitter she almost smells of lemons and she takes it out on the kids.
    Some people just don’t realise that the trust we show them with our children is a responsibility and not a gift to be abused when the want takes them.
    Luckily we’ve found a different teacher who isn’t so poisoned but it still grates me when I think about it.

Leave a Reply

