Sheepskin

I stitched my sheepskin to the bone in my back
So that people from behind, didn’t place me out of track

The needle carved in deeply, calling for more bone to grow
I finished with neon tan, came the night it didn’t glow

After two years with the weight, I’d forgotten what it said
All memories seemed at stake, of becoming who I am

So I stitched another page, poured the blood another life
Faked a smile, jumped off age, killed a spider with a knife

If tomorrow sees me walking, please don’t look me from behind
So much work went on to nothing, I just wish you came inside.

VanessaCondez©2010
___________________
*sheepskin (informal): a document certifying the successful completion of a course of study.

2 thoughts on “Sheepskin

Leave a Reply

