Blogging in 60 minutes

Maybe for some of you 60 minutes is a lot (!) but if you stop to really notice the time you spend writing a new post + reading blogs + leaving comments, you’ll probably come to the same conclusion as I have: if we don’t pay attention to the little clock on the right-hand side of the screen, we’ve just wasted a quarter of the day doing nothing productive.

So what do you do?

First, you choose a time-limit that you feel is acceptable to spend frying your right brain (the one responsible for your creativity). I’ve reckoned 1 hour should (must!) be enough. So I sit down on my chair, set my little alarm to 60 minutes and here’s what I do during that time in its specific order:

1. I read and reply to comments using Manage Comments (under My Blogs) and Track My Comments (under My Account)

2. I write, revise and publish my new post-a-day entry.

3. I open my subscriptions page (My Account > Read My Subscriptions) and pick one or two posts that seem to suit my preferences, read them only while they are still grabbing my full attention (if I stop to look at the window, it’s probably not worth it) and leave my comment at the end.

4. If I still have time, I let myself jump-click to another blog and this may happen in one of two ways:

a. I’ve read a comment in one of my subscribers’ blogs that seemed original, honest and interesting, so I visit his/her blog or

b. I open the WordPress Fleshly Pressed page and pick one blog entry

(a. and b. only get read completely if and while the post selected is still interesting and I leave a comment if I got to the end of it.)

Because I left number 4 to the end, I won’t feel bad if the alarm goes off and I’m in the middle of reading a post, I just leave the tab open to finish that read in the following day.

Now, I must confess, some days I spend all 60 minutes on number 2, especially when I’m writing a longer and more thoughtful post about one of my favorite topics: Creative Writing or the way we interact with each other — Humanizing.

Other days, I skip number 2. directly to number 3. because I wanted to read a longer post from another writer: for example, one of his/her short stories. When that happens my post for that day states what I’ve been reading and, because I thought it was interesting, I leave a link to the Short Story so that you may read it too. Example: Reggie’s Day.

After those 60 minutes have ended, I stop myself from opening, reading or commenting another blog for the rest of that day. I usually like to get up and move around a little bit, even if just to make a cup of tea, walk down the stairs and see if I’ve got mail or take a breath of fresh air by the window.

In the next slot of writing time one of my novels gets my full attention. I have little tricks to make sure of that too, but, hey, my alarm just went off…

8 thoughts on “Blogging in 60 minutes

  1. LOOOL, sounds like one of those Shrinks you see on American TV programmes who cut the patient off in mid flow because his time is up.
    I know what you’re saying with how fast time goes while doing nothing, I’m exactly the same. I have achieved around 270 words THIS MORNING! Pathetic.
    Too busy chatting on Facebook and generally being idle I’m afraid.
    Love the new lay out by the way, very… very Spring-like actually.
    And your little piece on the side about the magic of writing is spot on.

  2. Well, you’re the exception of course. You’re my writing buddy. So here I am commenting after blogging hours. :P

    I know, it sounds a little bit drastic. But the situation was becoming overwhelming. I was spending all my mornings surfing the web!! with headaches and, putting it simple, becoming a vegetable.

    So I decided to see it for the importance it really (didn’t) had: is blogging that important that I prefer to go over my novel-writing time to finish reading wonderful posts from (apologies) complete strangers? Nope! I prefer to write my novel. Heck! I feel even just staring at my novel feels like an achievement some days! lol

    The other problem with blogging was that it was overlapping my reading time — real books, that is — and it was getting difficult to focus through longer paragraphs. What the internet does to our brains!!!…

    Well buddy, time to go. By the way I don’t know how you do it, but you’ve been commenting all of my posts this week, right after I publish them: it’s like having that clip thing we used to have in Word, knocking on the screen and saying “I’m still here! May I help?” or maybe you’re just on the night shift :P

  3. I’m on the sick!
    It doesn’t happen often but I’ve decided that my days of going to work in pain are now over. My routine when I hurt myself used to be take some tablets and work through it. I wanted to be seen as a reliable worker and thus be respected for that. Unfortunately it turned out other wise.
    There was a dispute about holiday and my boss could have taken either side. I really thought he’d take mine because the other guy is a loud mouthed complainer who is often sick.
    However, he took the other chap’s side, leaving me with eight days holiday over the summer period.
    I have kids, he has none. I had plans to fly over to Wales, he stayed at home. I had eight days, he took three weeks. I was sure I’d get the days off but no, it was given to him; and there and then I decided to go easy on myself. Put me first before the firm because there are no “thank yous” for doing otherwise.
    My boss clearly thought that it’d be a lot less bother to let me down rather than have to fight it out with the other guy and I can tell you V, that was a sickener. I’m still bitter about it now, which is probably the reason I’m putting it down here, lol.
    I don’t cause trouble, I do my job better than most, but I’ll only do overtime now if it suits me and this year I was like steel on my holidays. No messing, I put in for four weeks at summer, and although they only gave me three that was the amount of time I wanted off anyway).
    So now you know ;-)
    I’m on the sick with an infected ankle so I have the time to reply.

  4. The thing about our blogs not having followers or comments is that we’ve gotten used to seeing our comments’ sections as therapeutic. Maybe that’s why we feel at easy to say whatever we want in here: we both do it. The good thing is, we connect more with each other than with the ordinary 20 words-long comment. And we are usually much more honest when we are giving our constructive critics about the other’s writing, exactly because our bond is stronger.

    What we achieved over the course of 2010 is kind of cool, isn’t it? I mean, how many people can say that they truly achieved such an honest and trustworthy web connection? One where they never feel bad about writing unrelated comments, or really long ones? A place where you’ll find a friend who you can trust to give you an honest review and a chat talk as if you were friends in real life just talking by a cafe table?

    I can almost hear it:
    “The hills are alive
    with the sound of music!”

    Okay, I got carried away… lol

    I’m sorry about your ankle, I hope you are not in pain so that you can enjoy the break from shifts and all that craziness. I’ve lost my faith in ‘chefs’ long ago. I’ve had the same experiences, if we try to get out of our ways to make it easy on them, they tend to not get out of their ways to respect the effort. Usually, they seem to take the route that offers less hassle and most of them are stupid enough to believe we are good to them because we are morons, so we won’t mind with their actions and keep on pleasing them.

    I’m a bit worried about the next manager I will have on my next job, when I’m too useful, too nice, too helpful, they don’t respect me. I’ve decided not to go that extra mile to please them as often as before, only now and again do I intend to work extra hours or fetch them a coffee. Because it’s true, you tell people how to treat you.

  5. Because it’s true, you tell people how to treat you.

    What a good way of putting it. Keep that in mind and you’ll do alright in your next job I reckon.

    Anyway, yes, you’re right V. We have a very good friendship that I don’t think anyone could ever really understand, lol.
    The good thing is that despite the trust and familiarity, our partners don’t feel threatened because we have never met. So it’s plus points all round :-D

    I for one value your comments and friendship V, and hope we manage to keep it together for many blogs to come, lol.

Leave a Reply

